Log in

Member Login



Activity sheets of past winners are no longer available. 

We are excited to announce the winner of the 2022 Missouri Building Block Picture Book Award. About 13,000 Missouri children voted this year, and Wolfboy by Andy Harkness is the winner! 

Here are the top five titles:

  1. Wolfboy by Andy Harkness (2,474 votes)

  2. Something Stinks by Jonathan Fenske (2,090 votes)

  3. Roar: A Book of Animal Sounds by Katerina Kerouli (1,711 votes)

  4. Find Fergus by Mike Boldt (1,574 votes)

  5. One-osaurus, Two-osaurus by Kim Normal (1,110 votes)

2021 Winner: Bad Dog written by Mike Boldt

2018 Winner: Pug Meets Pig written by Sue Lowell Gallion, illustrated by Joyce Wan

2015 Winner: Naked! written by Michael Ian Black, illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi. Simon & Schuster (c) 2014

2012 Winner: Press Here written and illustrated by Herve Tullet, translated by Christopher Franceschelli. San Francisco: Chronicle Books, 2011.

2009 Winner: Bye-Bye Big Bad Bullybug written by Ed Emberly. New York: LB Kids, c2007.

2006 Winner: I Ain't Gonna Paint No More! written by Karen Beaumont, illustrated by David Catrow. Orlando, Fla.: Harcourt, c2005.

2003 Winner: The Little School Bus written by Carol Roth, illustrated by Pamela Paparone. New York: North South Books, 2002.

2000 Winner: Bark, George written and illustrated by Jules Fieffer. [S.I.]: HarperCollins, 1999.

1997 Winner: "Hi, Pizza Man!" written by Virginia Walter, illustrated by Ponder Goembel. New York: Orchard Books, 1995.

2020 Winner: Dandy written by Ame Dyckman

2017 Winner: 10 Little Ninjas written by Miranda Paul

2014 Winner: Mustache Baby written by Bridget Heos, illustrated by Joy Ang. Clarion Books, 2013

2011 Winner: Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes written by Eric Litwin, illustrated by James Dean. New York: HarperCollins, c2010

2008 Winner: Llama Llama Mad at Mama written by Anna Dewdney. New York: Viking, c2007.

2005 Winner: Bubble Gum, Bubble Gum written by Lisa Wheeler, illustrated by Laura Huliska-Beith. Boston: Little, Brown, 2004.

2002 Winner: Who Took the Cookies From the Cookie Jar? written by Bonnie Lass & Philemon Sturges, illustrated by Ashley Wolff. Boston, MA: Little, Brown, 2000. 

1999 Winner: No, David! written and illustrated by David Shannon. New York: Blue Sky Press, 1998. 

1996 Winner: Splash, Splash written by Jeff Sheppard, illustrated by Dennis Panek. New York: Macmillan, 1994. 

2019 Winner: Can I Be Your Dog? written by Troy Cummings

2016 Winner: Bunnies!!! written by Kevan Atteberry; New York, NY: Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2015]

2013 Winner: Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons written by Eric Litwin, illustrated by James Dean. New York: Harper Collins, c2012

2010 Winner: The Pout-Pout Fish written by Deborah Diesen. illustrated by Dan Hanna. New York: Farrar Straus Giroux, c2008

2007 Winner: Move Over Rover! written by Karen Beaumont, illustrated by Jane Dyer. Orlando, Fla.: Harcourt, c2006.

2004 Winner: Bubble Bath Pirates! written by Jarrett J. Krosoczka. New York: Viking, 2003. 

2001 Winner: Two Cool Coyotes written by Jullian Lund, illustrated by Jillian Lund. New York: Dutton Children's Books, 1999.

1998 Winner: Cock-A-Doodle-Moo written and illustrated by Bernard Most. San Diego: Harcourt Brace, 1996.


Follow us on social media:

State Partner for Missouri

MLA is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

1190 Meramec Station Rd. Ste 207

Ballwin, MO 63021

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software